2011 Premier League Darts Kicks Off

There are sports like football, tennis and basketball that are followed by a large global population, both as spectators and at betting sites. But there are many lesser known sports that have their own championships, heroes and fan following. One such sport is darts, which is especially popular in the United Kingdom and a part of the pub culture there. The 2011 edition of the major annual event, Premier League Darts starts in London at the O2 on February 10. Every week the championship will be held at a different location in the United Kingdom. The final will be played at the Wembley Arena on May 19.

Eight of the biggest names from the Professional Darts Corporation circuit vie for the top spot. Of these eight, four are the highest ranked players in the Order of Merit and four are wild card selections. The eight play each other in a double round robin format. The top four in the round robin compete in the semi finals and the winners go through to the final. The eight players in the 2011 Premier League Darts are Mark Webster, James Wade, Gary Anderson, Simon Whitlock, Raymond van Barneveld, Terry Jenkins, Adrian Lewis and Phil Taylor.

The best darts betting sites would offer odds for the 2011 Premier League Darts. Bet365.com is one such betting site. The main market is the outright winner in the championship. Phil Taylor is the favorite at 9/4. Premier League Darts was established in 2005 and out of the six events held so far Taylor has won five times. The next as per the odds list is Anderson with odds of 3/1. This is a surprise because Anderson is making his debut in the championships this year. The only player to win Premier League Darts is Wade, who has very long odds of 10/1. The other markets offered at betting site Bet365.com are the player to finish at the bottom and the player to come out tops in the round robin.

There is another very interesting feature about 2011 Premier League Darts. The betting site 888.com was the original sponsor in 2005. Thereafter Holsten and White & Mackay were sponsors. But this year the sponsorship is back with 888.com.

Other Betting News

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply